Types of Antelope You Get to See in Serengeti

Located at the northern part of Tanzania and covering about 14,763 square kilometers, the Serengeti National Park is the habitat to several different types of antelopes. Its endless plains in the northern part extends to the Masai Mara reserve in Kenya while the southern part adjoins to the Ngorongoro Conservation area. 

As mentioned the Serengeti national Park is the habitat to several different animals that flock in herds including zebras, wildebeests, gazelles, and many more. If you are going for a 3 day safari in Tanzania, do not miss Serengeti and its wild habitants. 

Here is a brief description of the most common types of antelopes you’ll get to see in Serengeti. 


The wildebeest is among the largest types of antelopes you’ll encounter in Serengeti. It measures around 45 to 55 inches at the shoulder and weighs between 300 and 600 pounds. The wildebeest has different subspecies that vary in their color from slate gray to dark brown. Male wildebeests are darker than females. 

The typical measure of wildebeests is between 5 and 8 feet in length and the tail length is between 14 and 22 inches. With a long and rectangular shaped head, wildebeests are an ideal hunt for predators like spotted hyena and lion.


Elands are one of the most enduring animal inhabitants of Serengeti. Its appearance is stunning due to its striking coat and impressive, ox-like build. The largest type of antelope you’ll find in Serengeti, the males reach a shoulder height of 1.5 meters and weigh up to a ton. The females are slightly smaller in size and weigh less than males.

Lesser Kudu

This type of antelope is found in warmer climates. Lesser Kudu is difficult to spot as there are not many, but you may spot one in the Southwestern Serengeti. Lesser kudu is lighter in weight, weighing around 92-108 kg. This special type of antelope doesn’t depend much on water for their survival but get their water requirements from fresh wild fruits. They drink water only when available. 


This type of antelope is found in the grasslands and marshes of Serengeti. There is a round glandular spot below each year seeing which you can spot them. They graze at night and look for shelter during the daytime. Reedbuck has no fixed breeding season. Females give birth to a single calf and the gestation period is about 7.5 months. Male reedbucks have horns that point forward. 

East African Oryx

There are not many remaining of this special type of antelope. So, if you spot one consider yourself as lucky. This is a territorial animal and the defensive mechanism it has against predators is its speed. Oryx has a special ability of being able to detect rainfall 50 miles or more away.

Grant’s Gazelle

This animal is often confused with Thomson’s Gazelle. But Grant’s gazelle is bigger in size and unlike Thomson’s gazelle, the white patch extends above the tail. 

Thomson’s Gazelle

These antelopes have light brown coats with dark stripes down their sides. The notable difference from Grant’s gazelle is its smaller size and the white patch on its rump. The horns in males are longer than females and they migrate toward better food and water availability during the dry season. 


This antelope has large round ears and white patches above the eyes and around the nose. There is also a white circular drawing on their rumps through which you can identify them. The coat of these special animals has a water repellent oil layer that protects them from moisture. Also, waterbucks likes to stay close to water. 

These are a few types of antelopes that you’ll encounter in Serengeti. Even if you are in a 3 day safari in Tanzania, do not miss Serengeti, the house to a variety of animals that you can spot and enjoy

Related Articles

Back to top button